- 40
- Sphinn It!
Is Izmocars Spamming Us?
Posted By: dannysullivan 239 days ago
Topic Type: Discussion
Category: Sphinn Zone
http://www.superiorvolvo.com/
http://www.volvoofcharleston.com/
http://www.superiorkc.com/
http://www.superiorvolvo.com/
http://www.volvoofcharleston.com/
http://www.superiorkc.com
http://www.tonyhonda.com/
http://www.newbergdodge.com/ou/newberg-dcj/
http://www.independencehummer.com/
http://www.brickellhonda.com/
http://www.charlestoyota.com/
http://www.expresswaymotors.com/
http://www.duval-mazda.com/
http://www.worldcarnissan.net/
http://www.gpchevy.com/
When I went through them, I kept coming across references to an Izmocars (not always, but lots). And when I hit that site, look, they have a "rainmaker" service.
http://www.izmocars.com/izmocarsnew/rainmaker.htm
So I'll toss it out there. Anyone want to see if you can connect the dots here? Maybe someone from Izmo will drop by to explain things.
Postscript: And the list goes on...
http://www.gphonda.com
17 Comments



Comments
Haha, you so funny, they are also funny.
"The only Online Automotive Marketing Solution that gets you customers" (Oh really?)
"Covers the entire marketing lifecycle" (Starting with spamming in the awareness stage)
"Leverages every online opportunity..."(yep, the do that alright)
"Consolidates your brand, online and offline, for seamless brand building " (so does that mean they spam offline too?)
Don't get me started on publicly calling out all the spam that I delete, Danny. :-)
Danny,
A solution to that spam problem might be adding a new category to Sphinn: Car Dealers :-)
heres a few to get you started:
http://www.google.com/search?q=site%3Aizmoserver.izmocars.com&ie=utf-8&oe=utf-8&aq=t&rls=org.mozilla:en-US:official&client=firefox-a
Oooo, we're onto Nissans now. The submits are proving a great Honeypot for catching people trying to create member history for themselves though. 20 Sphinns off of What's New, add an avatar and then submit a story off an MFA blog. Some people have no class.
As someone who uses Sphinn (and other social media sites) AND who works in the automotive marketing industry, I am absolutely appalled by this. While I do SEO for car dealers, we NEVER submit them to social media sites. It isn't social media, isn't interesting to people on social media, and should be condemned.
I have two motives for proposing that we contact the dealers, as they have NO IDEA that this is going on. I guarantee it.
Motive 1) They (Izmo) are a competitor who has stooped very, very low indeed.
Motive 2) I love social media and Sphinn and I hate seeing worthless spam used just for the links.
I will be sending a link to this thread to all of the above mentioned dealers. They need to know that the "Rainmaker" that they signed up for is a "Spammaker" that is giving them a bad name.
Good luck with that, AutomotiveSEO.
I've occasiionally thought about trying to figure out who's doing the SEO/SMO for some of the obvious, off-topic spam that gets submitted here. That might make a fun post, but a) I don't have time, and b) I don't care to get beaten up by the "it's wrong to out fellow SEOs" mob.
I don't agree with automotive SEO's comment that he has never submitted them to social media. His profile with a link back on his automotive blog discards his opinion. Social media optimization is a rule of the day which has got popularized by Rohit Bhargava. Not only izmocars but whole bunch of online marketing companies do the amet. Yes, izmocars should take some corrective approach in doing SMO.
There's a difference between having a profile that links back, and actively submitting. I don't have to look your profile in my rss reader.
HAHAHA go to hxxp://www.hendrickcars.com/ (a site they're apparently affiliated with via superiorvolvo.com), and scroll to the bottom. Mousover the sitemap. Worst anchor text hackjob I've ever seen. All pointing to the homepage.
Haha Shady. The Title and meta tags are spectacular too.
Danny,
Instead ask them for a loaner to take a SPHINN?
I am sure every other commenter above thought of the same bad joke, but only I was brave enough to subject myself to the onslaught of boos.
dk
Link above doesn't work. Try this one (simplifed):
http://www.google.com/search?q=site%3Aizmoserver.izmocars.com&num=100&filter=0
SlightyShadySEO, I just checked out hxxp://www.hendrickcars.com/ - it was made by a company called eBizAutos (hxxp://www.ebizautos.com). Could they be in on this whole spamming thing too? I've been seeing them a lot in the list above:
Example: hxxp://www.superiorkc.com
Danny, you could always write something into the Sphinn T&C's that blatant adverts are charged at £495 per submission, and then ensure you have a debt collection agency on hand in the UK and USA...
lol iBrian, that would work i guess!
In regard to the anti-social spammer, everyone does it to the major ones, ok not to the specific niches that are definitely not related. But definitely to the Digg, Propeller general niches, its probably the easiest link you can achieve from a weighted domain, would be silly to not even use it!
@iBrian - I love it! I used to do something similar for spam faxes - I charged an advert assessment fee as if you faxed me the advert, you were signing up to the service. I don't get much spam fax anymore *grins*
This really sucks though - spammers like that give us all a bad name.