Sphinn Home » Link Building
Anti Link building 101 - why simply build links when you can tank your competitors links as well? A must read.

Dave Naylor - This is cool I used to have a vertical directory and just got a cease and desist from insurance.com, 2 things jump to mind, one there was no name on the email or telephone number, the return email address went to a non-specific domain not solicitors…

so is this a real C and D or someone trying to get links remove for insurance.com ??
5 Comments     

Comments

from SpostareDuro 481 days ago #
Votes: 0 | Vote:
+ -

First of all, whether it is real or bait, it is not a legal notification. So until Po Po is knocking, there would be no repercussions to face anywho..I think Id either let it ride or, if youre pressed about it, contact them the only way you know how and then eat a peanut butter and jelly sandwich. If they dont shut you down by the end of the sandwich, then youre probably going to blog another day. (copy paste, I was lazy)

from DaveN 480 days ago #
Votes: 0 | Vote:
+ -

what's odd is a friend in the industry thinks it might be REAL !!! ..

DaveN

from baiduyou 480 days ago #
Votes: 0 | Vote:
+ -

How bizarre.

from evilgreenmonkey 480 days ago #
Votes: 0 | Vote:
+ -

I didn't know that C&Ds could be sent via email and still be legally binding. I better run off and make a fake lawyer site, then mass mail all the affiliates who own the brand domains I want :)

from BurntToast 480 days ago #
Votes: 0 | Vote:
+ -

Even if it was a small time website trying to avoid legal fees by trying a C&D on their own first, they'd still stick real contact details in there (even just an email address at that domain at the very least)... insurance.com seems like they're big enough to use solicitors on a regular basis, so why they wouldn't bother here is a mystery.

There's another indicator pointing to it being a fake, insurance.com actually has a legal page that talks about trademarks etc. http://www.insurance.com/aboutus/legalandlicensing.aspx#trademarks  here's what they say:

"Insurance.com is a service mark of Insurance.com Insurance Agency LLC. and its affiliates."

Why would someone sending a C&D letter fail to even mention the name of the company that actually holds the trademark? Insurance.com Insurance Agency LLC isn't even mentioned, a little odd don't you think.

I can't see why you wouldn't ignore it... even in the 0.01% chance that it is legit, they'll need to get their solicitors to send you something a lot more official than that before it's even worth the response.


Log in to comment or register here.

Sphinn Sponsors

Be a Sphinn Sponsor - Click Here

Search Marketing Expo

Save the date for:
SMX Singapore - July 2-3, 2009
SMX São Paulo - August 4-5
SMX East - October 5-7, 2009
SMX Stockholm - 12-13 October, 2009
SMX Mexico - November 11, 2009

Search Marketing Now

Learn more about search marketing through free online webcasts and webinars from our sister site Search Marketing Now.

Upcoming Webcasts: