Published: Oct 22, 2008 - 03:23 am
Story Found By: Skitzzo 1702 Days ago
Category: SEM
According to ARINs whois information, seomoz.org is owned by the one, the only dotnetdotcom.org
Yes, ladies and gents, the same dotnetdotcom.org bot that SEOmoz lists as a source of data for their controversial Linkscape tool.
20 Comments




Comments
Well done @neyne!On the way to bed last night, I thought this would be a great search to do. I was too tired and said, nah, SEOmoz wouldnt do that as they know about it. Theyre in the industry and surely they wouldnt have overlooked this loophole.
I looked last week, but didnt use ARIN. <div></div><div></div><div>The information is less clear when you do a WHOIS search elsewhere.</div>
Thats funny.
ARIN is the registry for the IP numbers/blocks assigned for use, where whois is a public database of domain registrations. What neyne is showing is a record that someone requested IPs for use, and listed them as being put to use by an organization called SEOMO, which has contact info that matches one of the coders at seomoz presumably involved with the Linkscrape project,*who also has a dotnetdotcom.org email address*. Theres always lots of sloppiness around registration records, except where there are legal concerns. I think it would be safe to assume that SEOMO paid for the IPs or has otherwise assumed responsibility for the use of the IPs, and that someone using a dotnetdotcom.org email address actually registered those IPs, choosing to make SEOMO the responsible party on record.Of course it could be incorrect, only SEOMOZ/dotnetdotcom.org really knows whats going on over there.
Gee, I broke the DotBot story in its entirety mere hours after LinkScape launched, including DNS ties to SeoMoz, and others are still trying to milk the same shit after the fact...
Wow!!! Can you send me a signed autograph IncrediBill? Oh no, maybe you can send me an "I outted Dotbot" T-shirt, likethe old Dallas "I shot JR" Shirts. No, no, I GOT IT, how about one that says "FIRST" - that is GOLD!Hehehe, OK, Im getting silly now, but as a heterosexual man, the whole concept of "outting" makes me shiver. Not that theres anything wrong with that...I am going to out every bot I can find, but I reckon GayBot should be first. (too far)?)
I got promo shirts. I only do polos, t-shirts are so microsoft, 2x work for you?
@Incredibill but people quit taking you seriously since... well I dunno anyone ever did take you seriously.
@incrediBill you need to get onto one of those "most influential people" lists before Ill take you seriously. Seriously.
From now on Ill just keep my mouth shut and let people run amok tilting at windmills.Next Picscout, Linkscape or whatever comes along, youre all on your own.@shoemoney, look whos talking...
To be fair to IncrediBill, he is alright, smart and knows his stuff.But as the old expression goes, you lie down with Doug, you get fleas (and no, that isnt a typo but tihs is :P).
Dont mind me, having a bad day(s) with a nice foul mood chaser.In all fairness to neyne, its possible I didnt publish that tidbit as I was a little rushed that fine day but I checked my research files and I certainly did crank the terms SEOMOZ and SEOMOZ.org through every whois, reverse DNS lookup, you name it, and the ARIN data is on file. I know I shared it with someone, just cant remember off the top if it was in email, IM, twitter, who knows, it doesnt really matter.@mike I dont lie down with anyone, Im net neutral.
Im still not understanding why owning DotBot is so evil, maybe Im just inept, but there could be worst things....
Nothing evil in that, in and of itself.
congrats to @neyne for good work, but @incredibill FTW: twitter DM "I found it" at 6:42pm Oct 6,email w/ details 9:22pm same day.No I wont share so go ahead and update wikipedia to show whomever you want as the superstar. Thats all that matters anyway right?
guys, i did not publish it or ask to be signed under the find. who gives a shit ? i just asked on two threads here whether it is what i thought it was + 2 tweets to Skitzzo and Donna (maybe to John also, dont remember).Why is this important ?
@neyne no worries dude :-) you rock too... theres a bunch o sarcasm in there re: wikipedia etc... besides nothing proves ownership of anything... itreally just reflects IP number assignments.
Are you guys just mad because you didnt make this tool or what is the issue? I am missing something I think.
I dont know if I should feel privileged or what, 2 of my sites got crawled(and I mean completely) by dotbot last night. Did seem to obey Robots.txt though.I dont know if I care too much, or if I should? Didnt seem to use any more bandwidth than any other normal crawler.All originated from: 208.115.111.246 Mozilla/5.0 (compatible; DotBot/1.1; http://www.dotnetdotcom.org/, crawler@dotnetdotcom.org)
Thats 3 weeks after their last crawl, about the sort of schedule they hinted at.