- 53
- Sphinn It!
Posted By: MikeDammann 257 days ago
Topic Type: News Story (Jump to http://www.ericonsearch.com)
Category: Domaining
Real estate organizations now want 50k domain names handed over to them after deciding that they own the term "MLS".
This can easily move into other industries if they are allowed to do it. It will encourage many corporations to call their lawyers to get their hands on many powerful domains leaving the website owner stranded and forced to start over from scratch.
29 Comments



Comments
Pretty sad way to go.
This case is different from a traditional Trademark case in that a) NAR "experts" encouraged use of these domains only to decide that using them was bad years later. They also don't "own" the trademark. It appears to me to be a pretty simple case of REALTOR on REALTOR greed, with one side having the color of the Association's authority.
You just can't tell someone they can use something that they build their business around and easily take it away 5 years down the pike without giving up something to the person affected.
It's a tactic which has been tried by many. Mostly unsuccessfully.
This is only one case, but the outcome will send a strong message one way or another.
It is unbelievable that this is being done. Looks like greed and envy to me.
It took those organizations 15 years to understand the true value of domains and now they want to steal others people's work. Simple as that!
I can't believe that this happened. It must be incredibly frustrating.
The public thinks that seo's are the pirates! The minni-governments are just that.
MLS | My Luck Sucks.
Gotta feel for the guy. It was HIS work and HIS money that got him to the top of the search engine. It doesn't happen by magic or luck.
His site WAS in compliance. Now its not due to a rule change. So, he should be allowed to 301 redirect the domain over to his new site.
SAR redirected the domain to themselves today. And they say it was an issue of "mls" in the name. NO - they did this for the strength of the site.
The NAR giveth and the NAR taketh away...sad.
SAR redirected the domain to themselves today. And they say it was an issue of "mls" in the name. NO - they did this for the strength of the site.
I just saw that and also did a backlink check on the domain which btw. is thesarasotamls.com for those of you not familiar with this case.
Please make sure if you are "removing" links to thesarasotamls.com (because they basically just stole it) that you replace them with links to Marc's new site http://www.luxurysarasotarealestate.com
Anchor text "Sarasota MLS" would be greatly appreciated :_
This is ridiculous, despicable, and disgraceful. These people are thieves. Sarasota MLS links coming Marc’s way.
"In the case of Rasmussen, there was an ethics panel decision by SAR which apparently found the he had not committed an ethical violation by the domain name registration. Interestingly, when Rasmussen attempted to enter this ethics decision into evidence before the UDRP panel, SAR cited a provision in NAR’s rules governing the ethics proceeding which apparently prevent Rasmussen from disclosing the ethics decision and or using the decision in an arbitration case."
http://www.vegastrademarkattorney.com/2008/10/sarasota-realtor-files-federal-lawsuit.html
I see some nice blog posts moving up
http://www.google.co.cr/search?hl=es&q=sarasota+association+of+realtors&btnG=Buscar+con+Google&meta=
Don't forget the legal defense fund Knox has setup on his site. If at all possible, drop a few bucks in.
Lou, thanks for mentioning that:
http://www.ebaspace.com/2008/10/21/sarasota-mls-legal-fund-for-marc/
I wonder how Major League Soccer feels about it.
Does any of you have a contact info for them?
SAR of Soccer?
Major League Soccer legal department.
ll i can quickly find is
http://web.mlsnet.com/about/contact.jsp
and
Major League Soccer
420 5th Avenue, 7th Floor
New York, NY 10018
Phone: (212) 450-1200
Fax: (212) 450-1300
feedback@mlsnet.com.
Emailing them. http://web.mlsnet.com/index.jsp This thread ranks for the above term already ;)
What a surprise, they use MLS in their domain name.
This is so unfair that the association has redirected to their site. This story gets worse and worse. The solution is so simple.
Did SAR violate a injunction of any kind as far as waiting to redirect the domain to themselves? If so, that's contempt.
Several peeps sent $ to help Marc in legal bills - help him win this and set some case law against it.
The redirection of the URL does seem to call ones intentions into question.
MM getting screwed over by ICANN or ICANT as those who have any dealings with them is nothing new
Despicable. Lose an ethics hearing and cite ethics to keep the ruling silent.