Sorry this site requires JavaScript to be enabled in your browser. See the following guide on How to enable JavaScript in Internet Explorer, Netscape, Firefox and Safari. Alternatively you may be blocking JavaScript with an advert-related or developer plugin. Please check your browser plugins.

More and more companies and organizations are now deciding that they have a claim to own your domain after you have used it to brand your online identity for many years.
Real estate organizations now want 50k domain names handed over to them after deciding that they own the term "MLS".
This can easily move into other industries if they are allowed to do it. It will encourage many corporations to call their lawyers to get their hands on many powerful domains leaving the website owner stranded and forced to start over from scratch.
Comments30 Comments  

Comments

Avatar
from ericblackwell 1311 Days ago #
Votes: 1

Pretty sad way to go. This case is different from a traditional Trademark case in that a) NAR "experts" encouraged use of these domains only to decide that using them was bad years later. They also don’t "own" the trademark. It appears to me to be a pretty simple case of REALTOR on REALTOR greed, with one side having the color of the Association’s authority.

Avatar
from relady 1311 Days ago #
Votes: 0

You just can’t tell someone they can use something that they build their business around and easily take it away 5 years down the pike without giving up something to the person affected. 

Avatar
from MikeDammann 1311 Days ago #
Votes: 0

It’s a tactic which has been tried by many. Mostly unsuccessfully.This is only one case, but the outcome will send a strong message one way or another.

Avatar
from waynelong 1311 Days ago #
Votes: 0

It is unbelievable that this is being done.  Looks like greed and envy to me.  

Avatar
from MikeDammann 1311 Days ago #
Votes: 1

It took those organizations 15 years to understand the true value of domains and now they want to steal others people’s work. Simple as that!

Avatar
from hotdog808 1311 Days ago #
Votes: 0

I can’t believe that this happened.  It must be incredibly frustrating.

Avatar
from DenverKnox 1311 Days ago #
Votes: 0

The public thinks that seo’s are the pirates!  The minni-governments are just that.

Avatar
from ExposeLocal 1311 Days ago #
Votes: 1

MLS | My Luck Sucks.

Avatar
from Malok 1311 Days ago #
Votes: 1

Gotta feel for the guy.  It was HIS work and HIS money that got him to the top of the search engine.  It doesn’t happen by magic or luck.His site WAS in compliance.  Now its not due to a rule change.  So, he should be allowed to 301 redirect the domain over to his new site.

Avatar
from DenverKnox 1311 Days ago #
Votes: 0

SAR redirected the domain to themselves today.  And they say it was an issue of "mls"  in the name.  NO - they did this for the strength of the site.

Avatar
from alphaman 1311 Days ago #
Votes: 0

The NAR giveth and the NAR taketh away...sad.

Avatar
from MikeDammann 1311 Days ago #
Votes: 0

SAR redirected the domain to themselves today.  And they say it was an issue of "mls"  in the name.  NO - they did this for the strength of the site.I just saw that and also did a backlink check on the domain which btw. is thesarasotamls.com for those of you not familiar with this case.

Avatar
from realestatewebmasters 1311 Days ago #
Votes: 0

Please make sure if you are "removing" links to thesarasotamls.com (because they basically just stole it) that you replace them with links to Marc’s new site http://www.luxurysarasotarealestate.com Anchor text "Sarasota MLS" would be greatly appreciated :_

Avatar
from miketaylor 1311 Days ago #
Votes: 0

This is ridiculous, despicable, and disgraceful.  These people are thieves.  Sarasota MLS links coming Marc’s way.   

Avatar
from MikeDammann 1311 Days ago #
Votes: 0

"In the case of Rasmussen, there was an ethics panel decision by SAR which apparently found the he had not committed an ethical violation by the domain name registration. Interestingly, when Rasmussen attempted to enter this ethics decision into evidence before the UDRP panel, SAR cited a provision in NAR’s rules governing the ethics proceeding which apparently prevent Rasmussen from disclosing the ethics decision and or using the decision in an arbitration case."http://www.vegastrademarkattorney.com/2008/10/sarasota-realtor-files-federal-lawsuit.html

Avatar
from MikeDammann 1311 Days ago #
Votes: 0

I see some nice blog posts moving uphttp://www.google.co.cr/search?hl=es&q=sarasota+association+of+realtors&btnG=Buscar+con+Google&meta=

Avatar
from LouLynch 1311 Days ago #
Votes: 0

Don’t forget the legal defense fund Knox has setup on his site.  If at all possible, drop a few bucks in.

Avatar
from DenverKnox 1311 Days ago #
Votes: 0

Lou, thanks for mentioning that:http://www.ebaspace.com/2008/10/21/sarasota-mls-legal-fund-for-marc/

Avatar
from TheRealTerry 1311 Days ago #
Votes: 0

I wonder how Major League Soccer feels about it.

Avatar
from MikeDammann 1311 Days ago #
Votes: 0

Does any of you have a contact info for them?

Avatar
from DenverKnox 1311 Days ago #
Votes: 0

SAR of Soccer?

Avatar
from MikeDammann 1311 Days ago #
Votes: 0

Major League Soccer legal department.

Avatar
from DenverKnox 1311 Days ago #
Votes: 1

ll i can quickly find ishttp://web.mlsnet.com/about/contact.jspandMajor League Soccer420 5th Avenue, 7th FloorNew York, NY 10018Phone: (212) 450-1200Fax: (212) 450-1300feedback@mlsnet.com.

Avatar
from MikeDammann 1311 Days ago #
Votes: 0

Emailing them. http://web.mlsnet.com/index.jsp This thread ranks for the above term already ;)What a surprise, they use MLS in their domain name.

Avatar
from cgjerdetu 1311 Days ago #
Votes: 0

This is so unfair that the association has redirected to their site.  This story gets worse and worse.  The solution is so simple.

Avatar
from DenverKnox 1311 Days ago #
Votes: 0

Did SAR violate a injunction of any kind as far as waiting to redirect the domain to themselves?  If so, that’s contempt.Several peeps sent $ to help Marc in legal bills - help him win this and set some case law against it.

Avatar
from CherryCreekPro 1311 Days ago #
Votes: 0

The redirection of the URL does seem to call ones intentions into question.

Avatar
from mjwalshe 1311 Days ago #
Votes: 0

MM getting screwed over by ICANN or ICANT as those who have any dealings with them is nothing new

Avatar
from jsabia 1310 Days ago #
Votes: 0

"In the case of Rasmussen, there was an ethics panel decision by SAR which apparently found the he had not committed an ethical violation by the domain name registration. Interestingly, when Rasmussen attempted to enter this ethics decision into evidence before the UDRP panel, SAR cited a provision in NAR’s rules governing the ethics proceeding which apparently prevent Rasmussen from disclosing the ethics decision and or using the decision in an arbitration case."Despicable. Lose an ethics hearing and cite ethics to keep the ruling silent.

Avatar
from suzukisuv 1038 Days ago #
Votes: 0

Yea, i also wish to know what mayor league soccer will say about this. They will lose more cash than they will earn domains.

But let get serious, copyright claims are not so greedy and envy. I have one of most popular computer company domain name, its branded and its .org i have it for about 2 years and none claimed anything on me, domain is parked.



Upcoming Conferences

Search Marketing ExpoSearch Engine Land produces SMX, the Search Marketing Expo conference series. SMX events deliver the most comprehensive educational and networking experiences - whether you're just starting in search marketing or you're a seasoned expert.



Join us at an upcoming SMX event:

Upcoming Webcasts

Search Marketing Now Learn more about search marketing with our free online webcasts and webinars from our sister site, Search Marketing Now. Upcoming online events include: